The court has exclusive jurisdiction in civil causes and matters relating to or connected with any labour, employment, trade unions, industrial relations and matters arising from workplace, the conditions of service, including health, safety, welfare of labour, employee, worker and matter incidental thereto or connected therewith.



Buhari confers national award on Industrial Court President, Justice Kanyip, 446 others

686 Tuesday 11th October 2022

The Hon. President of the National Industrial Court, Hon. Justice Benedict Kanyip, PhD, FNIALS on Tuesday conferred with the national award of the Order of the Federal Republic, OFR by President Muhammad Buhari in attestation of his sacrifice, contribution, and growth to the development of Labour Justice in Nigeria.

The then Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon. Justice Tanko Muhammad, on Friday 13th December 2019 swore in Justice Kanyip as the substantive President of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria.

The swearing-in was sequel to the confirmation by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on Tuesday 5th November 2019 following the recommendation by President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR.

Prior to his appointment to the bench, Justice Kanyip lectured at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, and rose to the position of Lecturer II before leaving in 1992 for the National Commission for Colleges of Education as Legal Adviser in the rank of Principal Legal Officer.

In 1995, Justice Kanyip was appointed as a Senior Research Fellow at the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and rose to the rank of Associate Research Professor of Law in the year 2000.

Among those conferred with the honours are some past and present leaders in various fields of endeavours. A total of 445 Nigerians were conferred various national honours.

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon Justice Olukayode Ariwoola; Hon Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad; Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala; Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, and Prof Tijjani Muhammad-Bande got the highest honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) out of the total 447 awardees.

Also, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; Deputy Senate President Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Boss Mustapha; Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan; former speaker Yakubu Dogara; Justice Kudirat M. Kekere-Ekun; Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad; Justice Monica Dongban-Mansem got the second highest honour of Commander Of the Order Of the Federal Republic (CFR).